Aide financière et soutien

Published on April 07, 2020

Notre gouvernement PC prend des mesures décisives pour fournir un soutien financier et un soutien à tous les Ontariens alors que nous continuons à lutter contre COVID-19.

Notre gouvernement a été en contact permanent avec ses homologues fédéraux et a travaillé fort pour coordonner une réponse qui fournira un soutien direct aux familles, aux entreprises et aux travailleurs.

Veuillez trouver ci-dessous une liste détaillée des soutiens financiers provinciaux et fédéraux offerts aux Ontariennes et Ontariens:

Soutien aux individus, aux travailleurs et aux familles

Mesures provinciales:

  • Fournir un paiement unique de 200 $ par enfant âgé entre 0 et 12 ans et de 250 $ pour ceux ayant des besoins spéciaux âgés de 0 à 21 ans. S'applique à tous les enfants des résidents de l'Ontario, peu importe les circonstances. Postulez en ligne.
  • Élargir l'admissibilité au Programme d'aide aux impayés d’énergie (AIE) et veiller à ce que les services d'électricité et de gaz naturel ne soient pas déconnectés pour non-paiement pendant l'épidémie de COVID 19.
  • Offrir un allégement d'urgence des tarifs d'électricité aux familles, aux exploitations agricoles et aux petites entreprises. Les clients utilisant le temps d'utilisation continueront de payer le prix «hors pointe» de 10,1 cents / kWh, 24 heures par jour, sept jours par semaine, jusqu'au 31 mai.
  • Fournir de l’aide financièrepour le logement et la nourriture à travers du programme d’aide en cas d’urgence de l’Ontario.
  • Lancement d'un nouveau portail Web - ca/AgFoodJobs - pour mettre en relation les travailleurs avec les employeurs qui cherchent à combler des postes dans le secteur agroalimentaire. Ce nouvel outil en ligne facilitera le jumelage des personnes aux emplois essentiels et aux ressources de formation tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement alimentaire provinciale.
  • Fournir une augmentation de 4 $ par heure travaillée au personnel de première ligne, en plus du salaire horaire existant et indépendamment du salaire horaire de l'employé qualifié. De plus, les employés travaillant plus de 100 heures par mois recevront des paiements forfaitaires de 250 $ par mois pour les quatre prochains mois. Cela signifie que les employés admissibles travaillant en moyenne 40 heures par semaine recevraient 3 560 $ en rémunération supplémentaire.
  • Fournir 52 millions de dollars de l'ensemble financier du Plan d'action de l'Ontario pour mieux soutenir les particuliers et les familles en crise financière grâce à l'aide sociale. Ce financement appuiera ceux qui ne sont pas en mesure d'accéder à l'aide fédérale pour couvrir des besoins tels que les frais de nourriture, le loyer et les médicaments.
  • Rendre le coût des médicaments d'ordonnance plus abordable pour ceux qui participent au Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario en permettant aux patients de ne payer aucun ticket modérateur avant le 1er juillet pour toute prescription de plus de 30 jours qui est maintenant donnée en versements. De plus, le médicament Trillium existant et nouveau Les ménages du programme peuvent demander une réévaluation du revenu pour aider à réduire le fardeau financier des familles.
  • Investir jusqu'à 2,25 millions de dollars pour aider les agriculteurs à mieux protéger leurs employés et assurer l'approvisionnement continu de produits alimentaires sains pour les consommateurs pendant l'épidémie de COVID-19. Un soutien est également disponible pour les agriculteurs qui subissent des coûts inattendus pour le logement et le transport à la suite d'une épidémie de COVID-19 parmi les employés à la ferme.
  • Rendre le financement supplémentaire disponible pour vous aider à payer pour des choses liées à COVID-19 comme les fournitures de nettoyage, le transport et les vêtements. Si vous êtes un bénéficiaire du programme Ontario au travail ou du POSPH, vous pouvez obtenir ce financement supplémentaire en communiquant avec votre bureau local du programme Ontario au travail ou du POSPH. Le financement des dépenses liées à COVID-19 est le même pour les deux programmes: jusqu'à 100 $ pour les célibataires et jusqu'à 200 $ pour les familles.

Mesures fédérales:

  • Fournir 300 $ de plus par enfant par le biais de l'Allocation canadienne pour enfants (ACE) pour 2019-2020.
  • Versement d'un paiement spécial unique d'ici le début mai par le biais du crédit de taxe sur les produits et services pour les familles à revenu faible ou modeste.
  • Report de la date d'échéance de production des déclarations de revenus et d’impôts 2019 des particuliers jusqu'au 1er juin 2020.
  • Octroyer 2 000$ par mois pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu'à quatre mois aux travailleurs qui perdent leur revenu à la suite de la pandémie de COVID-19 grâce à la prestation canadienne d'urgence (PCU). Les Canadiens peuvent présenter une demande en ligne avec Mon dossier de l'ARC ou par téléphone en appelant la ligne sans frais automatisée au 1-800-959-2019 (veuillez avoir votre numéro d'assurance sociale et votre code postal à portée de main pour vérifier votre identité).
  • Retirer l'obligation de fournir un certificat médical pour avoir accès aux prestations de maladie de l'assurance-emploi si vous êtes malade, en quarantaine ou si vous avez été contraint de vous isoler.
  • Travailler avec les provinces et les territoires par le biais d'un nouveau transfert pour partager les coûts avec un supplément temporaire aux salaires des travailleurs essentiels à faible revenu (ceux qui gagnent moins de 2 500 $ par mois à temps plein. Plus de détails seront publiés sous peu.

Soutien aux aînés

Mesures provinciales:

  • Doubler le paiement du Régime de revenu annuel garanti (RRAG) pour aider les personnes âgées à faible revenu qui pourraient avoir besoin de plus d'aide pour couvrir les dépenses essentielles pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Les premiers paiements GAINS doublés ont été émis en avril 2020. Les particuliers recevront jusqu'à 166 $ par mois et les couples recevront jusqu'à 332 $ par mois. Cela fournira 75 millions de dollars supplémentaires à 194 000 personnes âgées vulnérables.
  • Investir 10 millions de dollars pour aider les organismes communautaires à coordonner les livraisons subventionnées de repas, de médicaments et d'autres produits de nécessaires aux personnes âgées.

Mesures fédérales:

  • Réduire de 25% les retraits minimaux requis des fonds enregistrés de revenu de retraite (FERR) pour 2020.
  • Octroi de 9 millions de dollars aux organisations locales pour soutenir les services essentiels aux aînés canadiens.
  • Les organisations qui ont reçu un financement dans le cadre du volet communautaire du programme Nouveaux Horizons pour les aînés 2019-2020 pourront utiliser leur financement pour fournir des services immédiats et essentiels aux personnes âgées.
  • Fournir un paiement non imposable unique de 300 $ pour les aînés admissibles à la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), avec un supplément de 200 $ pour les aînés admissibles au Supplément de revenu garanti (SRG).
  • Prolongation temporaire du SRG et des allocations si les informations sur le revenu des aînés pour 2019 n'ont pas été évaluées.

Prise en charge des personnes vulnérables

Mesures provinciales:

  • Octroyer 200 millions de dollars en financement de secours pour les services sociaux, ce qui comprend l'élargissement de l'accès au programme d'aide en cas d'urgence. Cela aidera les personnes et les familles en difficulté qui ne sont pas en mesure d'accéder à l'aide fédérale pour couvrir les besoins tels que la nourriture, le loyer et les médicaments pendant cette crise de santé publique. Des fonds seront également mis à la disposition des organisations qui fournissent des services sociaux aux personnes et aux familles vulnérables des Premières nations. Appelez votre bureau local si vous devez faire une demande d'aide sociale ou faire une demande en ligne.
  • Octroyer 40 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds de secours pour les services résidentiels en raison de la COVID-19 pour soutenir les organisations qui fournissent des services résidentiels aux enfants et aux jeunes, aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et aux refuges d'urgence pour les femmes et les familles fuyant la violence conjugale.
  • Octroyer 26 millions de dollars en soutien aux peuples et communautés autochtones, y compris une aide d'urgence pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain ayant des besoins financiers et des coûts pour les professionnels de la santé et les biens essentiels pour atteindre les Premières nations éloignées.
  • Investir plus de 2,2 millions de dollars à Kingston et 1,5 million de dollars à Muskoka pour fournir aux personnes sans abri ou à risque d'itinérance les services de logement et de soutien dont elles ont besoin.

Mesures fédérales:

  • Octroi de 305 millions de dollars pour un nouveau Fonds de soutien aux communautés autochtones pour répondre aux besoins immédiats des communautés des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis.
  • Rendre les produits d'hygiène personnelle et les aliments nutritifs plus abordables pour les habitants des communautés isolées grâce à Nutrition Nord Canada.
  • Octroyer 157,5 millions de dollars à l'initiative Vers un chez-soi pour soutenir les personnes sans abri.
  • Soutenir les femmes et les enfants fuyant la violence, en fournissant jusqu'à 50 millions de dollars aux refuges pour femmes et aux centres d’agression sexuelle.
  • Accorder 7,5 millions de dollars à Jeunesse, J'écoute pour assurer l'accès au soutien en santé mentale dont les jeunes ont besoin.

Soutien aux étudiants

Mesures provinciales:

Mesures fédérales:

  • Suspendre le remboursement et les intérêts des prêts canadiens aux étudiants et des prêts canadiens aux apprentis jusqu'au 30 septembre 2020.
  • Offrir du soutien aux étudiants et aux nouveaux diplômés grâce à la prestation canadienne pour étudiants d'urgence proposée (SCEE). Cette prestation fournirait 1250 $ par mois pour les étudiants admissibles ou 1750 $ par mois pour les étudiants admissibles ayant des personnes à charge ou handicapées. Plus de détails seront bientôt disponibles.
  • Lancement de la Subvention canadienne pour les services aux étudiants (CSSG) pour aider les étudiants à acquérir une expérience de travail et des compétences précieuses tout en aidant leurs communautés pendant la pandémie de COVID 19. Pour les étudiants qui choisissent de faire un service national et de servir leur communauté, le nouveau CSSG fournira jusqu'à 5 000 $ pour leurs études à l'automne. Détails à suivre sous peu.
  • Proposer des modifications au Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants (PCPE) pour permettre à un plus grand nombre d'étudiants d'être admissibles à un soutien et d'être admissibles à des montants plus élevés. Détails à suivre sous peu.

Assistance aux entreprises

Mesures provinciales:

  • Proposer une augmentation temporaire de l’exonération de l’impôt-santé des employeurs (ISE) de 490 000 $ à 1 million de dollars pour l’an 2020.
  • Offrir aux entreprises cinq mois d'exonération d'intérêts et de pénalités pour déposer et payer la majorité des impôts administrés par la province.
  • Aider à soutenir les régions accusant du retard en terme de croissance de l'emploi grâce à un nouveau crédit d'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, le crédit d'impôt pour l'investissement dans le développement régional.
  • Rendre disponible 6 milliards de dollars en accordant aux entreprises cinq mois d'allégement d'intérêt et des pénalités pour déposer et effectuer des paiements pour la majorité des taxes administrées par la province.
  • Plus de 1,8 milliard de dollars en reportant de 90 jours le prochain versement trimestriel de la taxe foncière scolaire aux conseils scolaires du 30 juin, ce qui donnera aux municipalités la possibilité de reporter l'impôt foncier aux résidents et aux entreprises, tout en s'assurant que les conseils scolaires continuent de recevoir leur financement.
  • Rendre disponible 1,9 milliard de dollars par la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) permettant aux employeurs de reporter les paiements jusqu'à six mois.
  • Partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral pour fournir des prêts remboursables aux propriétaires d'immeubles commerciaux admissibles qui connaissent des déficits de loyer potentiels parce que leurs locataires de petites entreprises ont été fortement touchés par la crise COVID-19. La province s'engage à verser 241 millions de dollars dans le cadre du nouveau programme Ontario-Canada d'aide d'urgence au loyer commercial (OCECRA). Le montant total de l'allégement provincial-fédéral qui serait accordé est supérieur à 900 millions de dollars.
  • Partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral pour investir jusqu'à 2,5 millions de dollars afin d'aider le secteur agroalimentaire à se développer en ligne afin d'offrir plus de possibilités aux producteurs de développer leur entreprise et d'offrir plus de choix alimentaires aux familles qui font leurs achats à domicile pendant l'épidémie de COVID-19.
  • Collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral pour élaborer le prêt aux petites et moyennes entreprises qui permettra d'accorder jusqu'à 40 milliards de dollars de prêts pour aider les entreprises à répondre aux besoins de trésorerie grâce à des prêts garantis.
  • Permettre aux restaurants et bars autorisés de vendre des spiritueux avec une commande de nourriture à un prix inférieur (en réduisant le prix minimum de 2,00 $ par 29 mL à 1,34 $ par 29 mL) et en facilitant la vente directe des cidreries aux consommateurs en supprimant temporairement l'exigence de cidreries doivent avoir cinq acres de fruits plantés afin de se qualifier pour un magasin à leur cidrerie.

Mesures fédérales:

  • Fournir aux entreprises une subvention salariale allant jusqu'à 75 % par le biais de la subvention salariale d'urgence du Canada (SSUC).
  • Permettre aux employeurs de réduire le montant des retenues à la source à verser à l'ARC grâce à la subvention salariale temporaire de 10 %.
  • Prolonger la durée maximale du programme de travail partagé de 38 à 76 semaines pour les employeurs touchés par la COVID-19.
  • Permettre à toutes les entreprises de différer, jusqu'à après le 31 août 2020, le paiement de tout montant d'impôt sur le revenu qui devient exigible le 18 mars.
  • Permettre aux entreprises, y compris les travailleurs autonomes, de reporter jusqu'au 30 juin 2020 le paiement de la taxe sur les produits et services / taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS / TVH), ainsi que les droits de douane dus sur leurs importations.
  • Établir un programme de crédits aux entreprises (PCE) pour fournir 65 milliards de dollars de soutien supplémentaire.
  • Fournir des prêts sans intérêt pouvant aller jusqu'à 40 000 $ aux petites entreprises et aux organismes sans but lucratif par le biais du nouveau Compte d'urgence pour les entreprises du Canada.
  • Augmenter le crédit disponible pour les agriculteurs en accordant une capacité de prêt supplémentaire de 5 milliards de dollars aux producteurs, aux entreprises agroalimentaires et aux transformateurs d'aliments.
  • Lancement d'un programme d'achat de prêts hypothécaires assurés pour fournir un financement stable à long terme aux banques et aux prêteurs hypothécaires.
  • Fournir 287 millions de dollars pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités rurales en leur donnant un accès indispensable aux capitaux par le biais du Réseau de développement des collectivités.
  • Octroi de 675 millions de dollars pour soutenir financièrement les petites et moyennes entreprises qui ne peuvent accéder à d'autres soutiens commerciaux COVID-19, par le biais des agences de développement régional du Canada.
  • Les banques canadiennes accorderont 40 000 $ de prêts, soutenus par le gouvernement fédéral, aux petites et moyennes entreprises.
  • La Banque du Canada a également abaissé les taux d'intérêt à 0,25%, en baisse par rapport à 0,75% annoncé le 13 mars.
  • Établir le Mécanisme de financement d’urgence pour les grands employeurs (LEEFF) afin de fournir un financement relais aux plus grands employeurs du Canada, dont les besoins pendant la pandémie ne sont pas satisfaits par le financement conventionnel, afin de poursuivre leurs activités. Plus de détails seront bientôt disponibles.
  • Fournir près de 962 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds régional de secours et de redressement (RRRF) pour aider un plus grand nombre d'entreprises et d'organisations dans des secteurs tels que la fabrication, la technologie, le tourisme et d'autres secteurs clés pour les régions et les économies locales. Ce fonds est spécifiquement destiné à ceux qui pourraient avoir besoin d'une aide supplémentaire pour se remettre de la pandémie de COVID-19, mais qui n'ont pas pu accéder aux mesures de soutien existantes.

Providing Financial Relief and Support

Published on April 07, 2020

Our PC government is taking decisive action to provide financial relief and support for all Ontarians as we continue to combat COVID-19. 

Our Government has been in constant contact with its Federal counterparts and has been working hard to coordinate a response that will provide direct support to families, businesses and workers.

Please find below a detailed list of current Provincial and Federal financial supports available to Ontarians:

Support for Individuals, Workers and Families

Provincial Measures:

  • Providing a one-time payment of $200 per child aged zero to 12, and $250 for those with special needs aged zero to 21. Applies to all children of Ontario residents, regardless of circumstance. Apply online.
  • Expanding eligibility for the Low‑income Energy Assistance Program (LEAP) and ensuring electricity and natural gas services are not disconnected for nonpayment during the COVID‑19 outbreak.
  • Providing emergency electricity rate relief for families, farms and small businesses. This includes:
    • A fixed electricity price, known as the COVID-19 Recovery Rate, of 12.8 cents per kWh, which will be automatically applied to all time-of-use customers 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. This fixed electricity price will be in place from June 1 – October 31, 2020.
    • Providing $8 million for the COVID-19 Energy Assistance Program for Small Business to support businesses struggling with electricity bill payments as a result of the outbreak.
    • $9 million for the COVID-19 Energy Assistance Program, which will provide one-time payments to consumers to help pay down electricity bill debt incurred during the COVID-19 outbreak.  Applications will be available through local utilities in the coming months.
    • Extending the Ontario Energy Board’s winter disconnection ban until July 31, 2020.
  • Providing financial aid for food and housing through COVID-19 Emergency Assistance.
  • Launched a new web portal – Ontario.ca/AgFoodJobs – to connect workers with employers looking to fill positions in the agri-food sector. This new online tool will make it easier to match people to essential jobs and training resources throughout the provincial food supply chain.
  • Providing a $4 per hour worked increase to frontline staff, on top of existing hourly wages and regardless of the qualified employee’s hourly wages. In addition, employees working over 100 hours per month will receive lump sum payments of $250 per month for the next four months. This means eligible employees working an average of 40 hours per week would receive $3,560 in additional compensation.
  • Providing $52 million from the Ontario's Action Plan financial package to better support individuals and families in financial crisis through social assistance. This funding will support those who are not able to access federal assistance to cover needs such as food costs, rent and medicine.
  • Making the cost of prescription drugs more affordable for those on the Ontario Drug Benefit Program by allowing patients to not pay any co-payment until July 1 for any prescription of 30+ days that is now given in installments Additionally, existing and new Trillium Drug Program households can apply for an income reassessment to help reduce the financial burden for families.
  • Investing up to $2.25 million to help farmers better protect employees and ensure the continued supply of healthy food products for consumers during the COVID-19 outbreak. Support is also available for farmers who experience unexpected costs for housing and transportation as a result of a COVID-19 outbreak among on-farm employees.
  • Making additional funding available to help you pay for things related to COVID-19 like cleaning supplies, transportation and clothing. If you are an Ontario Works or ODSP recipient, you can get this additional funding by contacting your local Ontario Works or ODSP office. Funding for COVID-19 related expenses is the same for both programs: up to $100 for single individuals and up to $200 for families.
  • Providing an Ontario Tools Grant of $2.5 million in 2020-21 and $7.5 million in 2021-22 and ongoing to help new eligible apprentices purchase tools, protective equipment and clothing for their trade, and forgiving $10 million in outstanding loans owed by apprentices for tool purchases made at the beginning of their careers.

Federal Measures: 

  • Providing an extra $300 per child through the Canada Child Benefit (CCB) for 2019-20.
  • Providing a one-time special payment by early May through the Goods and Services Tax credit for low- and modest-income families.
  • Deferring the filing due date for the 2019 tax returns of individuals until June 1, 2020.  
  • Providing $2,000 a month for up to four months for workers who lose their income as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic through the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). Canadians can apply online with CRA My Account or by phone by calling the automated toll-free line at 1-800-959-2019 (please have your social insurance number and postal code handy to verify your identity).
  • Waiving the requirement to provide a medical certificate to access EI sickness benefits if you are sick, quarantined or have been directed to self-isolate.
  • Working with provinces and territories through a new transfer to cost-share a temporary top up to the salaries of low-income essential workers (those who earn less than $2,500 per month on a full time basis. More details will be released shortly.

Support for Seniors

Provincial Measures:

  • Doubling the Guaranteed Annual Income System (GAINS) maximum payment to help low-income seniors who may need more help to cover essential expenses during the COVID-19 outbreak. The first doubled GAINS payments were issued in April 2020. Individuals will receive up to $166 per month and couples will receive up to $332 per month. This will provide an additional $75 million to 194,000 vulnerable seniors.
  • Investing $10 million to help community organizations with the coordination of subsidized deliveries of meals, medicines and other necessities to seniors.

Federal Measures:

  • Reducing the required minimum withdrawals from Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIFs) by 25% for 2020.
  • Providing $9 million for local organizations to support essential services to Canadian seniors.
  • Organizations who received funding under the 2019-2020 New Horizons for Seniors Program community-based stream will be able to use their funding to provide immediate and essential services to seniors.
  • Providing a one-time tax-free payment of $300 for seniors eligible for the Old Age Security (OAS) pension, with an additional $200 for seniors eligible for the Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS).
  • Temporarily extending GIS and Allowance payments if seniors’ 2019 income information has not been assessed.

Support for Vulnerable People

Provincial Measures:

  • Providing $200 million in social services relief funding, which includes expanding access the Emergency Assistance program. This will help struggling individuals and families who are not able to access federal assistance to cover needs such as food, rent and medicine during this public health crisis. Funding will also be made available to organizations delivering social services to vulnerable First Nations individuals and families. Call your local office if you need to apply for social assistance or apply online.
  • Providing $40 million through the COVID-19 Residential Relief Fund to support organizations that provide residential services for children and youth, people with developmental disabilities and emergency shelters for women and families fleeing domestic violence.
  • Providing $26 million in support for Indigenous peoples and communities, including emergency assistance for urban Indigenous people in financial need and costs for health care professionals and critical supplies to reach remote First Nations.
  • Investing over $2.2 million in Kingston and $1.5 million in Muskoka to provide people who are homeless or a risk of homelessness with the housing and support services they need.

Federal Measures:

  • Providing $305 million for a new distinctions-based Indigenous Community Support Fund to address immediate needs in First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Nation communities.
  • Making personal hygiene products and nutritious food more affordable for Northerners in isolated communities through Nutrition North Canada.
  • Providing $157.5 million to the Reaching Home initiative to support those experiencing homelessness.
  • Supporting women and children fleeing violence, by providing up to $50 million to women’s shelters and sexual assault centres.
  • Providing $7.5 million to Kids Help Phone to ensure children and youth have access to the mental health support they need.

Support for Students

Provincial Measures:

Federal Measures:

  • Suspending repayment and interest on Canada Student Loans and Canada Apprentice Loans until September 30, 2020.
  • Providing support to students and new graduates through the proposed Canada Emergency Student Benefit (CESB) This benefit would provide $1,250 per month for eligible students or $1,750 per month for eligible students with dependents or disabilities. More details will be made available soon.
  • Launching the Canada Student Service Grant (CSSG) to help students gain valuable work experience and skills while they help their communities during the COVID‑19 pandemic. For students who choose to do national service and serve their communities, the new CSSG will provide up to $5,000 for their education in the fall. Details to follow shortly.
  • Proposing changes to the Canada Student Loans Program (CSLP) to allow more students to qualify for support and be eligible for greater amounts. Details to follow shortly.

Support for Businesses

Provincial Measures:

  • Proposing a temporary increase to the Employer Health Tax (EHT) exemption for 2020 from $490,000 to $1 million.
  • Providing businesses five months of interest and penalty relief to file and make payments for the majority of provincially administered taxes.
  • Helping to support regions lagging in employment growth with a proposed new Corporate Income Tax Credit, the Regional Opportunities Investment Tax Credit.
  • Making available $6 billion by providing five months of interest and penalty relief for businesses to file and make payments for the majority of provincially administered taxes.
  • Over $1.8 billion by deferring the upcoming June 30 quarterly municipal remittance of education property tax to school boards by 90 days, which will provide municipalities the flexibility to provide property tax deferrals to residents and businesses, while ensuring school boards continue to receive their funding.
  • Making available $1.9 billion by the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) allowing employers to defer payments for up to six months.
  • Partnering with the federal government to provide forgivable loans to eligible commercial property owners experiencing potential rent shortfalls because their small business tenants have been heavily impacted by the COVID-19 crisis. The province is committing $241 million through the new Ontario-Canada Emergency Commercial Rent Assistance Program (OCECRA). The total amount of provincial-federal relief that would be provided is more than $900 million.
  • Partnering with the federal government to invest up to $2.5 million to help the agri-food sector expand online to provide more opportunities for producers to grow their business and offer more food choices for families who are shopping from home during the COVID-19 outbreak.
  • Worked with the federal government to develop the Small and Medium-sized Enterprise Loan that will enable up to $40 billion in lending to help businesses meet cash flow requirements through guaranteed loans.
  • Allowing licensed restaurants and bars to sell spirits with a food order at a lower price (reducing the minimum price of $2.00 per 29 mL to $1.34 per 29 mL) and making it easier for cideries to sell directly to consumers by temporarily removing the requirement for cideries to have five acres of planted fruit in order to qualify for a store at their cidery.

Federal Measures:

  • Providing businesses with a wage subsidy up to 75 per cent through the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy.
  • Allowing employers to reduce the amount of payroll deductions required to be remitted to the CRA through the Temporary 10% Wage Subsidy.
  • Extending the maximum duration of the Work-Sharing Program from 38 weeks to 76 weeks for employers affected by COVID-19.
  • Allowing all businesses to defer, until after August 31, 2020, the payment of any income tax amounts that become owing on or after March 18 and before September 2020.
  • Allowing businesses, including self-employed individuals, to defer until June 30, 2020 payments of the Goods and Services Tax / Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST), as well as customs duties owing on their imports.
  • Establishing a Business Credit Availability Program (BCAP) to provide $65 billion of additional support.
  • Providing interest-free loans of up to $40,000 to small businesses and not-for-profits through the new Canada Emergency Business Account.
  • Increasing credit available for farmers by allowing an additional $5 billion in lending capacity to producers, agribusinesses, and food processors.
  • Launching an Insured Mortgage Purchase Program to provide long-term stable funding to banks and mortgage lenders.
  • Providing $287 million to support rural businesses and communities by providing them with much-needed access to capital through the Community Futures Network.
  • Providing $675 million to give financing support to small and medium-sized businesses that are unable to access other COVID-19 business supports, through Canada's Regional Development Agencies.
  • Canadian banks will provide $40,000 loans, backed by the federal government, to small and medium sized businesses.
  • The Bank of Canada also lowered interest rates to 0.25%, down from 0.75% announced on March 13.
  • Establishing the Large Employer Emergency Financing Facility (LEEFF) to provide bridge financing to Canada’s largest employers, whose needs during the pandemic are not being met through conventional financing, in order to keep their operations going. 
  • Providing nearly $962 million through the Regional Relief and Recovery Fund (RRRF) to help more businesses and organizations in sectors such as manufacturing, technology, tourism and others that are key to the regions and to local economies. This fund is specifically targeted to those that may require additional help to recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, but have been unable to access existing support measures.
  • Through the Business Credit Availability Program:
    • Export Development Canada (EDC) is working with financial institutions to guarantee 80% of new operating credit and cash flow term loans of up to $6.25 million to small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). The program is now available at various banks and credit unions.
    • EDC’s Mid-Market Guarantee and Financing Program will bring liquidity to companies who tend to have revenues of between $50 million to $300 million, to sustain operations during this uncertain period. EDC will continue to work with Canadian financial institutions to guarantee 75 % of new operating credit and cash-flow loans – ranging in size from $16.75 million to a maximum of $80 million. More details will be made available soon.
    • Business Development Canada (BDC) is working with financial institutions to co-lend term loans of up to $6.25 million to SMEs for their operational cash flow requirements. The support is available until or before September 30, 2020. The program is now available at various banks and credit unions.
    • BDC’s Mid-Market Financing Program will provide commercial loans ranging between $12.5 million and $60 million to medium-sized businesses whose credit needs exceed what is already available through the Business Credit Availability Program and other measures BDC anticipates that qualifying companies will have annual revenues in excess of approximately $100 million. More details will be made available soon.
  • Waiving tariffs on certain medical goods, including PPE such as masks and gloves.